The Honors Recital

This weekend I was able to participate in this really cool thing for my voice recital. So, I wouldn’t think of my voice as good, more like manufactured from years of voice lessons. I can sing on pitch, I can sing high notes as well as low notes, my breathing technique is fine, the problem really is with my voice itself. It’s not very good. My technique got me into the recital, not my voice, but I guess I still made it into the recital so if my technique is all I need to make it into the recital and not my voice itself, I can take that.

For the audition you needed to prepare to songs. I prepared this boring aria with no meaning that I can figure out called, “Come and Trip It” to show off my range, because what is the point of singing if you aren’t showing off? And I prepared a song from the hit musical “Les Misarables” (Sorry if I spelled it wrong). The song was “I Dreamed a Dream” I liked “I Dreamed a Dream” better because there was actually more emotion.

The audition was intense. The casting people didn’t say anything to you, they didn’t even smile or say “Thanks for coming!” When you were done singing! It was so nerve-wracking!

When I found out that I had actually MADE the recital I flipped! I had decided not to get my hopes up because I had never made it before. See, whenever I have high hopes they let me down, but when I have low hopes, something good happens, well I guess. Usually something good can’t happen to me without something equally as bad happening. See, the next day I broke my phone and found out that I couldn’t go to this fun school event because the recital was the same day. Yay!

Still, the recital mattered more to me than these things. I’ll admit that it’s not that elite, but it’s still a goal that I had accomplished AND I was the only singer!

Only June was able to go my recital. We went out to eat first and the place we went had these delicious cotton candy drinks that looked so cool and had cotton candy on them. We also got to eat delicious Italian food. I am obsessed with Italian food and June is too. I guess that that’s just because we’re both Italian. Anyways, we both got fettichini alfredo (I spelt that so wrong I think. Whatever, I guess I’m not doing my heritage proud.) and it was absolutely amazing! After, June and I went to take some pictures and Snapchat our “Dad” (Funny story, we have this weird fake family thing going on… I don’t really know, it’s strange.)

Next we headed to the place which my voice recital would take place. It was in this beautiful hall with a stage and the acoustics were just great!

I rented out a practice room and June helped me practice. I was honestly so nervous! I had worked for this for so long and it was finally happening! What if I messed up? What if I choked onstage!?! What if everyone hates me?

Practice soon was over and I had to take my seat with the other performers. I felt sick! And I had to pee. I had to pee so bad. My fears quickly switched from forgetting words to peeing onstage. Even though I had to pee, I could not stop drinking water. It was strangely calming to me.

I was the only singer as I’ve previously stated, so I got to watch a lot of pianists and violinists.

There was this one kid who was in like fourth grade and he started playing this amazing and confusing piece! It sounded so hard to play and I was surprised this little kid could play it. I look at the program to see what piece he was playing and I realized that he wrote it himself. My jaw dropped! I could not believe it at all!

It made me feel even more nervous. These kids were all so good and then there’s me.

Finally it was my turn. I got up and the butterflies in my stomach just increased.

Thankfully my fears faded away as soon as I started singing.

My nervousness just disappeared.

Ugh, I sound so cheesy, but it’s true. I mean I had already known that this would happen because I’ve performed before, but the last recital I did (It wasn’t elite) I had lost my voice so my voice kept on cracking. It was sad and people were laughing at me so I started laughing which of course sounding like I was crying, but I got ice cream afterwards and no one I cared about saw my performance.

This performance went very well. My parents put a video of me singing on their FaceBook and it got like 70 likes and 20 comments about how amazing I was. I mad like 7 people cry with my amazing voice and acting! Not that I’m bragging or anything, okay I sort of am, but not really because 70 likes isn’t very much.

I got so many compliments on my way out, people loved me! Random people were recording me! (Okay, NOW I’m bragging!) It was so much fun and I was so glad I got to participate.

Stay Gold,

Josie

 

 

Leave a Reply

